top of page

General Assembly Vote, January 25, 1832 (2)


               Soon after the Preston amendment was rejected, the Assembly voted again to add an amendment that called for focusing on the removal of free African Americans from Virginia. Furthermore, it declared that the issues associated with slavery would be ignored until public opinion was made more explicit.




               A motion was then made by Mr. Bryce of Goochland, to amend the said report of the committee, by inserting at the end thereof, the following:


Profoundly sensible of the great evils arising from the condition of the coloured population of this commonwealth: induced by humanity, as well as policy, to an immediate effort for the removal in the first place, as well of those who are now free, as of such as may hereafter become free: believing that this effort, while it is in just accordance with the sentiment of the community on the subject, will absorb all our present means; and that a further action for the removal of the slaves should await a more definite developement of public opinion :—Resolved, &c.


               And the question being put thereupon was determined in the affirmative.—Ayes 67, noes 60. On motion of Mr. Preston, (seven of the members present concurring,) Ordered, that the ayes and noes upon the said question, be inserted in the journal.



The names of the gentlemen who voted in the affirmative, are Messrs. Grinalds, Randolph, Persinger, Garland, M'Cue, Brooke, Cameron, Faulkner, Good, Wilson of Botetourt, Campbell of Brooke, Bolling, Spurlock, Hives, Jones, Wood of Frederick, Bryce of Frederick, Snidow, Bryce of Goochland, Hail of Grayson, Erskine, Carskadon, Poston, Roane, Mullen, Williams, Johnson, Mayo, Gallaher, Berry, Summers, Hooe, Allen, Hays, Lawson, M'llhaney, Cordell, Caldwell, Smith of Mason, Billingsly, Henry, Vawter, Preston, Chandler, Leigh, Fitzhugh, Parriott, Robertson, Hiner, Gilliland, Zinn, Hart, Moore, M'Dowell, M'Mahon, Cline, Jessee, Kilgore, Bare, Powell, Moncure, M'Coy, M'Culloch, Keller, Crockett, King and Rutherfoord—67.



And the names of the gentlemen who voted in the negative, are Messrs. Banks, (the speaker,) Wood of Albemarle, Booker, Campbell of Bedford, Pate, Gholson, Shell, Patteson of Buckingham, Daniel, Halyburton, Richardson, Patteson of Chesterfield, Pendleton, Broadus, Wilson of Cumberland, Brodnax, Ritchie, Ball, Chilton, Marshall, Stillman, Helms, Hale of Franklin, Woods, Smith of Frederick, Smith of Gloucester, Spencer, Bruce, Sims, Gravely, Jordan, Sheild, Harwood, Dabney, Carter of Richmond, Poindexter, Street, Hudgins, Goode, Knox, Webb, Cabell, Fisher, Harvey, Anderson of Nottoway, Davis, Witcher, Swanson, Miller, Dupuy, Land, Shands, Carter of Prince William, Carson, Cobb, Crump, Hargrave, Gillespie, Newton and Brown—60.


From Journal of the House of Delegates of the Commonwealth of Virginia 1831-1832 , pp. 110.



bottom of page